Climate knowledge

Changes in the global climate have undisputedly been proven. According to the IPCC (Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change), temperature increases of both the earth’s atmosphere and the oceans, the melting of ice and snow as well as the sea level rise have increased overproportionally over the past years (IPCC 2013: 4). These developments have by now also been politically and socially acknowledged (UNFCCC 2009: 1).

Not all climatic changes and extremes can be traced back to anthropogenic causes. However, it is extremely likely that human influence is the essential cause for these significant climatic changes (IPCC 2013: 17). The resulting ecological and social problems, for instance decreasing biodiversity, a loss in ecosystem services and increased social vulnerability, clearly visualise the need for action, among others in the sense of sustainable climate protection (O’Brien 2013: 587).

A sophisticated, differentiated assessment of the entire issue demands a certain basic knowledge. Therefore, you will on the following pages find an introduction to the central concepts and topics regarding climate change and climate protection. This list is not intended to be exhaustive and does not replace individual research.

What are the causes of climate change?

Life on earth is determined, among other factors, by the existence of the atmosphere. Within this atmosphere, all relevant weather and climate processes take place. The specific composition of the atmosphere leads to a nearly balanced radiation budget on earth. This regulated irradiation and radiation of warmth – also called natural greenhouse effect – is the fundamental base for life on earth (Michler 2010: 32f).
The increased emission of greenhouse gases from anthropogenic processes (for instance energy production via combustion of fossil materials) threatens the equilibrium of this atmospheric balance. The amount of climate-affecting trace gases grows. This leads to an additional intensification of the natural greenhouse effect, terrestrial heat radiation is more and more reflected back to earth and thus leads to an increase of global temperatures (Keilbach 2010: 115).

Which consequences does climate change have?

The consequences from global climate change are manifold and have different regional effects. Significant alterations of hot and cold periods, precipitation events, extreme weather characteristics and the sea-level rise are only a few of the direct ecological results of global climate change (Vetter 2010: 211). If our ecosystems are not able to react to these rapid changes, the threats of irreparable damage, loss in species diversity as well as in ecosystem services (like clean water, clean air, usable biomass) are looming (O’Brien 2013: 587). Additionally, there is a danger of feedback effects, for example a defrosting of permafrost soils which leads to formerly bound methane being freed which would in turn intensify the greenhouse effect even more.
Since humans and the environment constitute an interdependent system, alterations in the environment also have direct effects on anthropogenic systems. Loss of living spaces due to a rise in sea levels, a growing risk for prevalence of disease vectors due to shifts in temperature borderlines, farming losses because of changes in precipitation and increases and/or shifts of extreme weather events are but a few of the challenges already occurring today (Vetter 2010: 211).

Which measures can be taken?

Potential measures can be divided into two categories: measures for mitigation of climate change and measures for adaptation to climate change. Both approaches are necessary to address the given challenges.
Mitigation can be achieved particularly via emissions-reduction and -avoidance. Saving energy, using green power and avoiding airplane flights are examples for such reduction measures. Other mitigation measures are actions which detract greenhouse gases from the atmosphere, for instance afforestation. The field of adaptation can also include infrastructure measures for coastline and flood protection and the cultivation of crops with higher levels of resistance to weather phenomena.
In the best case, climate-protection measures can have both mitigation as well as adaptation effects. This can be observed in forest-climate-protection projects. On the one hand, afforestation projects effectively bind CO2 through tree growth, thus depriving the bound CO2 of its direct effects on the climate. On the other hand, forest-climate-protection projects offer co-benefits like for example protection from erosion in events of heavy rains (Gold Standard 2014). Among other results, this also includes a secured basis of existence for the local population, for instance through local job creation and knowledge transfer. In turn, such securities enable the people on ground to take up new measures against and adaptations to climate change.

What does “climate-neutral” mean?

Despite all efforts, there are unavoidable emissions and/or emissions that cannot be reduced any further. Such emissions may be compensated via corresponding certified climate-protection projects. “Climate-neutrality” means that the climatic influences of a company, an event, a product or a project are neutralised after the steps of emission accounting, avoidance and reduction. Emissions that cannot be reduced any further are compensated via CO2-saving or -sequestration within the scope of a climate-protection project.

What is a Carbon Footprint and how is it calculated?

The Carbon Footprint entails the amount of greenhouse gases emitted by a company, an event, a product or other points of assessment within a defined timeframe. The measured emissions are calculated in CO2 equivalents (CO2e) in order to include all relevant greenhouse gases (e. g. methane or nitrous oxides).

There are different standards within the field of balancing methods. CO2OL determines your specific Carbon Footprint according to the internationally recognised and accepted method of the Greenhouse Gas Protocol Standard which has been developed by the World Resource Institute in cooperation with the World Business Council for Sustainable Development and numerous additional stakeholders. In general, these balancing procedures consider activity data (e.g. kilometres driven in a car) and multiply them with the corresponding emissions factors (e.g. kg of CO2 per km). The result is the amount of CO2 emissions.

What are CO2-certificates?

CO2-certificates are a confirmation – according to internationally recognized standards – of the saved or reduced amounts of CO2e. These certificates can be generated from climate-protection projects and be sold on a corresponding market. Emissions which cannot be reduced any further can be compensated by buying such certificate. The equivalent value of one certificate is 1 tonne of CO2e.

Isn’t emissions trading like a sale of indulgence?

Generally, emissions trading is an attempt to put a price tag on environmental burdens, particularly greenhouse-gas emissions. To do so, a limited total volume of pollution rights is auctioned on the mandatory carbon market. The affected companies therefore have to assess whether it makes more sense to save emissions or to buy a certain amount of emission rights. The available amount of emissions rights on the European market is to be reduced over time so that companies will in the long term see cost advantages in reducing emissions.

All players who are not included in the mandatory carbon market can buy and sell CO2-certificates on the voluntary carbon market. By buying CO2-certificates on the voluntary market, emissions can be compensated and, more generally, climate-protection projects are supported. In order to prevent the accusation of a sale of indulgence, an overarching climate-protection concept should be developed which includes the analysis, reduction and compensation. However, the support for a climate-protection project is to be preferred over any kind of inactivity. Climate-protection projects have positive effects in any case. The motivation for engagement has to be determined in a comprehensive strategy.

Why are forests so important?

orests stabilise the global climate, working like giant air conditioners. They do this by converting solar energy into water condensation, cooling the atmosphere, and they are responsible for precipitation in the regions to the north and south of the equator. Forests are a guarantee for rain and hydrological cycles worldwide. Thus they make life possible. They supply cities, agriculture and industry with water. They safeguard the existence of humanity. The destruction of forests threatens this foundation for life. Tropical forests also store enormous quantities of carbon dioxide. As they disappear, this damaging greenhouse gas escapes into the atmosphere. Deforestation is responsible for 17 percent of global GHG-emissions. The deforestation in tropical regions of Latin America, Asia and Central Africa is particularly serious. The fight against climate change cannot be won without preserving the tropical forests.
The protection of forests and ecologically valuable reforestation counteract the trend of increasing reforestation. In addition to benefits for the climate, flora and fauna, additional impacts such secure income sources and knowledge transfer are integral building blocks for sustainable climate protection.

Why has it been so difficult to conserve forests and to manage them sustainably?

Because conversion to other forms of land use has been much more lucrative than preserving forests up to now and so many factors have an effect: forests in tropical countries make way for agriculture, for wood, for extraction of raw materials and for infrastructure projects; in temperate regions for pulp, paper and wood products. Deforestation is driven above all by demand from the developed world for agricultural products such as beef, palm oil and soya. For example, about 60 percent of deforestation in Brazil is accounted for to create new grazing land for cattle. In Indonesia the largest part of the forests are cleared to cultivate palm oil plantations. Poverty and growing populations in developing countries increase the impact. Until now, it has been much more lucrative to clear a natural forest and to use the land for other purposes, mostly agricultural. The value of a natural forest and its services to the environment and humanity have been historically undervalued. Only if the multi-faceted ecological and societal functions of a forest are accounted for in monetary terms will the chances of conserving forests on a large scale increase.

Which advantages does afforestation have compared to other options of CO2-compensation?

Afforestation projects are the only possibility to permanently detract CO2 from the atmosphere. This is a form of direct CO2-sequestration since trees need CO2 for the process of photosynthesis, in which carbon dioxide is transformed into solid biomass (wood) and oxygen. Despite advanced technology, humanity has so far not succeeded in imitating this trick by nature.

In contrast to this, other climate-protection projects, for instance renewable-energy projects follow the principle of indirect reduction, i.e. emissions are saved which would be generated in a business-as-usual scenario (“How much coal would be burned for heating if this hydropower plant was not built?”).
Another advantage of forest-climate projects are their co-benefits. By planting mainly native tree types in mixed cultivation, a new biodiverse forest system is created which offers habitats for endangered animal and plant species as well as it fulfils important functions like protection against erosion and flooding (Gold Standard 2014). Moreover, afforestation also entails important advantages for the domestic population in project countries: the projects create long-term, secure jobs, capacity building as well as fair wages, mostly for indigenous local people (Gold Standard 2014). These benefits are also included in the assessment for project certification such as the Gold Standard.

Sources

IPCC (2013): Working Group I Contribution to the Fifth Assessment Report. Climate Change: The Physical Science Basis. Summary for Policy Makers. Abrufbar unter: http://www.climatechange2013.org/images/report/WG1AR5_SPM_FINAL.pdf (letzter Abruf: 10.02.2015)

Gold Standard (Hrsg.) (2014): The real value of robust climate action. Impact investment far greater than previously understood. Abrufbar unter: http://www.goldstandard.org/report-the-real-value-of-robust-climate-action (letzter Abruf: 13.02.2015)

Keilbach, M. (2010): Der erwartete globale Klimawandel und seine Ursachen. In: In: Michler, G. (Hrsg.): Klimaschock. Ursachen, Auswirkungen, Prognosen. (h.f.ullmann Verlag) Potsdam.

Michler, G. (2010): Grundlage des Klimawissens. In: Michler, G. (Hrsg.): Klimaschock. Ursachen, Auswirkungen, Prognosen. (h.f.ullmann Verlag) Potsdam.

O’Brien, K. (2013): Global environmental change III: Closing the gap between knowledge and action. In: Progress in Human Geography.

Vetter, M. (2010): Unmittelbare Folgen für die Menschen. In: Michler, G. (Hrsg.): Klimaschock. Ursachen, Auswirkungen, Prognosen. (h.f.ullmann Verlag) Potsdam.

UNFCCC (2009): Report of the Conference of the Parties on its fifteenth session, held in Copenhagen from 7 to 19 December 2009. Copenhagen Accord. Abrufbar unter: http://unfccc.int/resource/docs/2009/cop15/eng/11a01.pdf (letzter Abruf: 19.02.2015)

Ask us!

You are donating to : Greennature Foundation

How much would you like to donate?
$10 $20 $30
Would you like to make regular donations? I would like to make donation(s)
How many times would you like this to recur? (including this payment) *
Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Phone
Address
Additional Note
paypalstripe
Loading...

Klimawissen

Die Veränderungen des globalen Klimas sind eindeutig belegt. Die Temperaturzunahme der Erdatmosphäre und der Ozeane, das Schmelzen von Eis und Schnee, sowie der Anstieg des Meeresspiegels haben in den letzten Jahren laut IPCC (Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change) überproportional zugenommen (IPCC 2013: 4). Diese Entwicklung wird inzwischen auch politisch und gesellschaftlich anerkannt (UNFCCC 2009: 1).

Nicht alle klimatischen Veränderungen und Extreme sind auf anthropogene Ursachen zurückzuführen. Dennoch ist es sehr wahrscheinlich (extremely likely), dass der menschliche Einfluss den wesentlichen Grund für die signifikanten Klimaveränderungen darstellt (IPCC 2013: 17). Die daraus entstehenden ökologischen und sozialen Probleme, wie zum Beispiel eine schwindende Biodiversität, ein Verlust an Ökosystemdienstleistungen und eine erhöhte soziale Verwundbarkeit, führen die Handlungsnotwendigkeit u.a. im Sinne eines nachhaltigen Klimaschutzes deutlich vor Augen (O’Brien 2013: 587).

Eine differenzierte Auseinandersetzung mit der gesamten Thematik setzt ein notwendiges Grundwissen voraus. Daher finden Sie nachfolgend eine Einführung in die zentralen Begriffe und Themen des Klimawandels und des Klimaschutzes. Diese Zusammenstellung erhebt keinen Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit und ersetzt nicht den eigenen Rechercheprozess.

Welche Ursachen hat der Klimawandel?

Das Leben auf der Erde wird u.a. durch das Vorhandensein einer Atmosphäre bedingt. In dieser Gashülle finden alle relevanten Wetter- und Klimaprozesse statt. Die spezifische Zusammensetzung der Atmosphäre sorgt für einen annähernd ausgeglichenen Strahlungshaushalt der Erde. Durch die regulierte Ein- und Ausstrahlung von Wärme, auch als natürlicher Treibhauseffekt bekannt, wird das Leben auf der Erde überhaupt erst möglich (Michler 2010: 32f).

Der vermehrte Ausstoß von Treibhausgasemissionen durch anthropogene Prozesse (wie die Energiegewinnung durch die Verbrennung fossiler Rohstoffe) bringt das atmosphärische Gleichgewicht ins Wanken. Die Menge klimarelevanter Spurengase nimmt zu. Der natürliche Treibhauseffekt wird dadurch zusätzlich verstärkt, terrestrische Wärmestrahlung wird vermehrt auf die Erde zurückgeworfen und führt zu einer Zunahme der Globaltemperatur (Keilbach 2010: 115).

Welche Folgen hat der Klimawandel?

Die Folgen des globalen Klimawandels sind vielfältig und müssten grundsätzlich regional differenziert werden. Die signifikante Veränderung von Wärme- und Kälteperioden, Niederschlagsereignissen, Extremwettereignissen und der Meeresspiegelanstieg sind nur einige der unmittelbaren ökologischen Folgen des globalen Klimawandels (Vetter 2010: 211). Sollten unsere Ökosysteme nicht in der Lage sein auf diese schnellen Veränderungen zu reagieren, drohen irreparable Schäden, der Verlust von Artenvielfalt und Ökosystemdienstleitungen (wie z.B. sauberes Wasser, saubere Luft, verwertbare Biomasse) (O’Brien 2013: 587). Zusätzlich besteht die Gefahr von Rückkopplungseffekten wie zum Beispiel dem Auftauen der Permafrostböden, wodurch bisher gebundenes Methan freigesetzt wird, welches den Treibhauseffekt wiederum verstärkt.
Da Mensch und Umwelt ein interdependentes System bilden, haben Umweltveränderungen unmittelbare Auswirkungen auf anthropogene Systeme. Der Verlust an Lebensraum durch den Meeresspiegelanstieg, ein erhöhtes Verbreitungsrisiko von Krankheitsvektoren durch die Verschiebung von Temperaturgrenzen, Ernteausfälle durch veränderte Niederschlagsmuster oder die Zunahme und/oder Verschiebung von Extremwetterereignissen stellen nur einige der bereits auftretenden Herausforderungen dar (Vetter 2010: 211).

Welche Maßnahmen können ergriffen werden?

Mögliche Maßnahmen lassen sich in zwei Kategorien unterteilen: Maßnahmen zur Minderung/Eindämmung (mitigation) des Klimawandels oder zur Anpassung (adaptation) an den Klimawandel. Beide Ansätze sind notwendig, um mit den Herausforderungen umzugehen.
Eine Eindämmung des Klimawandels ist vor allem durch Emissionsreduktionen oder -vermeidungen erreichbar. Energiesparen, Nutzung von Ökostrom oder die Vermeidung von Flügen sind Beispiele für Minderungsmaßnahmen. Ebenfalls mindernd wirken Maßnahmen, die der Atmosphäre Treibhausgase entziehen, zum Beispiel die Aufforstung von Wäldern. Zum Bereich der Anpassung gehören beispielweise Infrastrukturmaßnahmen zum Küsten- oder Hochwasserschutz oder der Anbau wetterunempfindlicherer Nahrungsmittel.
Klimaschutzprojekte können im besten Fall sowohl eindämmend als auch anpassend wirken. Dies lässt sich beispielsweise an Wald-Klimaschutzprojekten veranschaulichen. Zum einen binden die Aufforstungsprojekte effektiv CO2 durch das Baumwachstum, wodurch das gebundene CO2 seine unmittelbare Klimawirkung verliert. Zum anderen bieten Wald-Klimaschutzprojekte Zusatznutzen (Co-Benefits) wie zum Beispiel Erosionsschutz gegenüber Starkregenereignissen (Gold Standard 2014). Dazu gehört u.a. auch eine gesicherte Lebensgrundlage für die Menschen vor Ort, zum Beispiel durch lokal geschaffene Arbeitsplätze und Wissenstransfer. Diese Sicherheit ermöglicht den Menschen dann wiederum Maßnahmen und Anpassungen gegenüber dem Klimawandel zu ergreifen.

Was bedeutet „klimaneutral“?

Trotz aller Bemühungen gibt es unvermeidbare oder nicht-weiter reduzierbare Emissionen. Diese Emissionen können über entsprechend zertifizierte Klimaschutzprojekte kompensiert werden. „Klimaneutralität“ bedeutet, dass die Klimawirkung eines Unternehmens, einer Veranstaltung, eines Produkts oder Projekts, nach den Schritten der Bilanzierung, Emissionsreduktion und Kompensation, neutral ist. Die nicht weiter reduzierbaren Emissionen werden durch die CO2-Einsparung oder -Bindung innerhalb eines Klimaschutzprojekts neutralisiert.

Was ist ein CO2-Fußabdruck und wie wird er berechnet?

Der CO2-Fußabdruck (Carbon Footprint) beschreibt die ausgestoßene Menge an Treibhausgasen eines Unternehmens, einer Veranstaltung, eines Produkts oder sonstiger Untersuchungsgrößen in Bezug auf einen festgelegten Zeitraum. Die bilanzierten Emissionen werden in CO2-Äquivalenten (CO2e) erhoben, um alle klimawirksamen Gase (wie z.B. Methan oder Lachgas) berücksichtigen zu können.

Im Bereich der Bilanzierungsmethodik gibt es verschiedene Standards. CO2OL erstellt Ihren spezifischen Carbon Footprint nach der international anerkannten und weit verbreiteten Methodik des Greenhouse Gas Protocol Standards, welche vom World Ressource Institut in Zusammenarbeit mit der World Business Council for Sustainable Development und zahlreichen Stakeholdern aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Politik entwickelt wurde. Grundsätzlich werden bei diesen Bilanzierungsprozessen Aktivitätsdaten (z.B. zurückgelegte Kilometer mit dem Auto) mit einem entsprechenden Emissionsfaktor (z.B. kg CO2e pro km) multipliziert. Daraus ergibt sich die verursachte Menge an CO2e.

Was sind CO2-Zertifikate?

CO2-Zertifiakte sind die nach internationalen Standards verbriefte Bestätigung einer eingesparten oder reduzierten Menge an CO2e. Diese Zertifikate können im Rahmen von Klimaschutzprojekten generiert und auf einem entsprechenden Markt verkauft werden. Nicht weiter reduzierbare Emissionen können durch den Kauf solche Zertifikate kompensiert werden. Der Gegenwert eines Zertifikats beträgt üblicherweise 1 Tonne CO2e.

Ist Emissionshandel nicht eine Art Ablasshandel?

Grundsätzlich ist der Emissionshandel der Versuch Umweltbelastungen, konkret Treibhausgasemissionen, mit einem Preis zu versehen. Auf dem verpflichtenden CO2-Markt wird dazu ein begrenztes Gesamtvolumen an Verschmutzungsrechten versteigert. Entsprechend müssen die betroffenen Unternehmen abwägen, ob es sich lohnt Emissionen einzusparen oder eine bestimmte Menge an Emissionsrechten zu kaufen. Auf dem europäischen Markt soll die verfügbare Menge an Emissionsrechten stetig verkleinert werden, sodass Unternehmen langfristig einen Kostenvorteil in der Emissionsreduktion sehen.
Auf dem freiwilligen Markt können alle Akteure, die nicht vom verpflichtenden Markt umfasst werden, CO2-Zertifikate erwerben und verkaufen. Durch den Erwerb von CO2-Zertifikaten auf dem freiwilligen Markt können Emissionen kompensiert und grundsätzlich Klimaschutzprojekte unterstützt werden. Um den Vorwurf des Ablasshandels nichtig zu machen, sollte ein Gesamtklimaschutzkonzept entwickelt werden, welches die Punkte der Bilanzierung, Reduktion und Kompensation umfasst. Die einfache Unterstützung eines Klimaschutzprojekts ist jedoch gegenüber jeglicher Inaktivität zu bevorzugen. Klimaschutzprojekte haben in jedem Fall eine positive Wirkung. Die Motivation des Engagements ist im Zuge einer umfassenden Strategie zu klären.

Welche Rolle spielen Wälder?

Wälder stabilisieren das globale Klima. Sie funktionieren wie große „Klimaanlagen“. Indem sie Sonnenenergie in Wasserdampf umwandeln, kühlen sie die Atmosphäre und sind für den Niederschlag in vielen Regionen südlich und nördlich des Äquators verantwortlich. Wälder sind ein Garant für Regen und Wasserkreisläufe – weltweit. Sie ermöglichen damit Leben. Sie versorgen Städte, Landwirtschaft und Industrie mit Wasser. Sie sichern die Existenz der Menschheit. Waldzerstörung bedroht diese Lebensgrundlage.
Wälder, vor allem in den Tropen, aber auch in Gunststandorten der nördlichen Breiten, speichern zudem enorme Mengen Kohlendioxid. Verschwinden sie, entweicht das klimaschädliche Treibhausgas in die Atmosphäre. Entwaldung ist für 17 Prozent der weltweiten CO2-Emissionen verantwortlich. Bei Kahlschlägen oder Brandrodungen entweichen zusätzlich nicht nur der im Holz gespeicherte Kohlenstoff, sondern auch klimawirksame Gase aus Humus und Böden. Besonders gravierend ist die Entwaldung im tropischen Waldgürtel der Erde. Der Kampf gegen den Klimawandel kann nicht ohne den Erhalt der tropischen Wälder gewonnen werden.
Der dem entgegenwirkende Waldschutz und die Wiederaufforstung möglichst naturnaher Waldflächen bildet ein Gegengewicht. Neben den ökologischen Vorteilen für Klima, Flora und Fauna, bilden auch die weiteren durch die Projekte geschaffenen Co-Benefits, wie ein alternatives, sicheres Einkommen und Wissenstransfer einen wesentlichen Baustein des nachhaltigen Klimaschutzes.

Warum ist es so schwierig, Wälder zu bewahren und nachhaltig zu bewirtschaften?

Weil die Umwandlung in andere Nutzungsformen bislang weitaus lukrativer ist als der Walderhalt und so viele verschiedene Faktoren wirken: Wälder dienen der Holzgewinnung und weichen zudem für die Landwirtschaft, dem Abbau von Rohstoffen und Infrastrukturprojekten. Getrieben wird Entwaldung vor allem von der Nachfrage in Industriestaaten nach Agrarprodukten wie Rindfleisch, Palmöl und Soja. So gehen rund 60 Prozent der Entwaldung in Brasilien auf das Konto der Viehzucht, um neue Weideflächen für Rinder zu schaffen. In Indonesien wird der Großteil der Wälder gerodet, um Palmöl-Plantagen anzulegen. Armut und eine wachsende Bevölkerung in Entwicklungsländern verstärken den Nutzungsdruck. Entscheidend ist: Es ist wirtschaftlich weitaus lukrativer, einen Naturwald zu roden und die Fläche anders, meist landwirtschaftlich, zu nutzen. Der Wert eines Naturwaldes und seiner “Leistungen” für Umwelt und Mensch ist bislang zu gering. Erst wenn die vielfältigen ökologischen und damit gesellschaftlichen Funktionen eines Waldes monetär berücksichtigt werden, steigen die Chancen, Wälder in notwendigem Umfang zu erhalten.

Welche Vorteile bieten Aufforstungen gegenüber anderen Möglichkeiten der CO2-Kompensation?

Aufforstungsprojekte bieten die einzige Möglichkeit CO2 dauerhaft aus der Atmosphäre zu ziehen. Es handelt sich um eine direkte CO2-Bindung, da Bäume CO2 für den Prozess der Photosynthese benötigen, bei dem Kohlenstoffdioxid in feste Biomasse (Holz) und Sauerstoff umgewandelt wird. Trotz fortschrittlicher Technik hat der Mensch es bisher nicht geschafft diesen Kniff der Natur zu imitieren.
Demgegenüber arbeiten andere Klimaschutzprojekte, zum Beispiel erneuerbare Energien Projekte, nach dem Prinzip der indirekten Reduktion, d.h. es werden Emissionen eingespart die im Falle eines Business-as-usual Szenarios anfallen würden („Wie viel Kohle würde verheizt werden, wenn dieses Wasserkraftwerk nicht gebaut werden würde?“)
Ein weiterer Vorteil von Wald-Klimaschutzprojekten sind die Co-Benefits. Durch die Aufforstung in Mischkultur mit überwiegend einheimischen Baumarten wird ein neues biodiverses Waldsystem geschaffen, dass Lebensraum und Rückzugsstätte für gefährdete Tier- und Pflanzenarten bietet und wichtige Funktionen wie Erosions- und Wasserschutz erfüllt (Gold Standard 2014). Zusätzlich bieten die Aufforstungen auch wichtige Vorteile für die lokale Bevölkerung in den Projektländern: Die Projekte schaffen für die größtenteils indigene, lokale Bevölkerung langfristige und sichere Arbeitsplätze, Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten sowie ein faires Gehalt (Gold Standard 2014). Diese Benefits werden im Zuge der Projektzertifizierung, z.B. durch den Gold Standard, mitgeprüft.

Quellen

IPCC (2013): Working Group I Contribution to the Fifth Assessment Report. Climate Change: The Physical Science Basis. Summary for Policy Makers. Abrufbar unter: http://www.climatechange2013.org/images/report/WG1AR5_SPM_FINAL.pdf (letzter Abruf: 10.02.2015)

Gold Standard (Hrsg.) (2014): The real value of robust climate action. Impact investment far greater than previously understood. Abrufbar unter: http://www.goldstandard.org/report-the-real-value-of-robust-climate-action (letzter Abruf: 13.02.2015)

Keilbach, M. (2010): Der erwartete globale Klimawandel und seine Ursachen. In: In: Michler, G. (Hrsg.): Klimaschock. Ursachen, Auswirkungen, Prognosen. (h.f.ullmann Verlag) Potsdam.

Michler, G. (2010): Grundlage des Klimawissens. In: Michler, G. (Hrsg.): Klimaschock. Ursachen, Auswirkungen, Prognosen. (h.f.ullmann Verlag) Potsdam.

O’Brien, K. (2013): Global environmental change III: Closing the gap between knowledge and action. In: Progress in Human Geography.

Vetter, M. (2010): Unmittelbare Folgen für die Menschen. In: Michler, G. (Hrsg.): Klimaschock. Ursachen, Auswirkungen, Prognosen. (h.f.ullmann Verlag) Potsdam
.
UNFCCC (2009): Report of the Conference of the Parties on its fifteenth session, held in Copenhagen from 7 to 19 December 2009. Copenhagen Accord. Abrufbar unter: http://unfccc.int/resource/docs/2009/cop15/eng/11a01.pdf (letzter Abruf: 19.02.2015)

Fragen Sie uns!

Name (required)

Email (required)

Subject

Message

You are donating to : Greennature Foundation

How much would you like to donate?
$10 $20 $30
Would you like to make regular donations? I would like to make donation(s)
How many times would you like this to recur? (including this payment) *
Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Phone
Address
Additional Note
paypalstripe
Loading...